Over de BAV Hardlopen Jeugd Lid worden Wandelfit BAV Zeven Linden Loop

Bav-er wint noordpool marathon

Update – Thursday 8th April at 01.00 (GMT) The last competitor has just crossed the finish line of the 2010 North Pole Marathon with Joep Rozendal from Holland winning the men’s event and Emer Dooley from Ireland taking first place in the women’s race. The start time of the 2010 North Pole Marathon was 15.00 (GMT) with weather conditions that presented some challenges to the runners. The wind gusted to 45km/hr which had an effect on both the temperature and visibility. With wind chill, competitors were running in temperatures that dropped to -20 degrees celsius. In addition to this, the wind also led to drifting snow which made for poor contrasts and less than ideal visiblity. Competitors are due to leave the North Pole for Longyearbyen later today and a full set of results  will be posted at this time. There were no injuries at this year’s marathon and everyone is delighted to of achieved their goal of completing a marathon at the top of the world.

Results Men’s 2010 North Pole Marathon

1st    Joep Rozendale   (Netherlands)      5hrs 00min 58sec 2nd   Rik Vercoe         (Great Britain)     5hrs 07min 30sec 3rd   Yen-Po Chen      (Taiwan)             5hrs 29min 47sec